About Us

The Kerala State Council for Science, Technology and Environment (KSCSTE) is an autonomous body under the ministry of S&T, Govt. of Kerala, constituted in November 2002 to be an agency for change and development through Science and Technology. Formerly it was the Science, Technology and Environment Committee (STEC), established in 1972 in concurrence with the Science Policy of Government of India. The Council promotes and activates programs for increasing the stock of knowledge in Science, and fine tune the policies which are significant for the sustained development of humanity. The Council prepares the road map for development through scientific research and innovation in technologies. Achieving excellence in basic research, academia-industry interactions, strengthening indigenous initiatives, and building strong infrastructure and developing a high quality science education system in the State are the targeted goals of KSCSTE. This has been achieved through various schemes and programs and by the R &D organisations established by the Council.

The Prathibha Scholarship is implemented by the Women Scientists Division of KSCSTE since 2012-13. The Division has the primary mandate of promoting women and students in Science and Technology, through Fellowships, Scholarships, Awareness Programmes and Workshops.